Progress on Standing up Straight (or what I learned from a yoga champion)

Posted: June 25, 2013 in Exercise, Learning, Mental Reboot
Tags: , ,

It never occurred to me when I decided to take some time off to work on my general ability to learn that one of the things that I would be spending a chunk of time on would be learning to stand up straight.  See these previous posts, if you don’t believe me – Overlearning, Shoulders down, back straight, and Cross domain expertise.  One tends to feel like that is something that one has mastered in childhood.  But apparently some of us are slow learners.

In any case, I had the opportunity to spend some time learning from “the 1st ever male champion of the Bishnu Charan Gosh cup.”  It’s one of those wonderful things about yoga that a man most often pictured in back contorting poses like the Tiger Scorpion pose is also able to provide insight into standing straight.  I guess I’m far enough into my yoga practice that I shouldn’t be surprised by this, but I still am.  Perhaps a perpetual sense of wonder is another aspect of yoga that I’m learning to appreciate?  That might be even more amazing than standing up straight or mastering the Tiger Scorpion for a curmudgeonly computer nerd such as myself.

Anyway, during the seminar that I took, Mr. Esak Garcia (the aforementioned champion) asked me to demonstrate the Bikram Half Moon pose for the class.  This was the very first time during the seminar that he asked anyone to demonstrate anything.  Which of course sent that immediate flurry of thoughts – “I’m pretty sure this isn’t one of my better poses. Why am I being asked to demonstrate? Oh crap! There are 30 people staring at me in my skimpy bathing trunks.”  And, in fact, I was not asked to demonstrate because of my superb form but rather due to my pronounced lordosis (curvature in the lower back).

But all to the good.  Because he did manage to get me to stand up straight in a slightly healthier way than I was doing before, and furthermore gave me the tools to improve further with my own practice.  Which also pushed me further toward the resolve that I should spend more time practicing at home in a more strictly deliberative practice sense even if that cuts down on the group exercise class in the studio that I really enjoy. And of course got me thinking again about the appropriate mix of in home learning vs. structured learning vs. group classes vs. seminars vs. individual instruction, but more on that later…

Leave a Reply

